Tuesday, 6 November 2012

Swearing-in for Prattville officials Monday

PRATTVILLE — New city leaders will take office Monday morning, bringing a different look and experience level to the Prattville City Council.

The swearing-in ceremony for the mayor and seven council members is set for 10 a.m. in council chambers at City Hall. The public is invited to attend.

The mayor will stay the same. Bill Gillespie Jr. was elected to his first full term in office during the August elections with about 70 percent of the vote.

Three of the council members will be new ? Jerry Starnes in District 4, Clyde Chambliss Jr. in District 5 and Lora Lee Boone in District 7.

The three outgoing councilmen ? Tom Miller, Mike Renegar and Nathan Fank ? have a combined 36 years service on the board.

Renegar serves as president and Fank as president pro-tem.

The first order of business once the new council is sworn in is electing a new president and pro-tem, said Cathy Dickerson, city clerk. The organizational meeting will follow as soon as the swearing-in duties are completed.

Dickerson will preside at the organizational meeting until the president is elected.

The new president will preside as the pro-tem until a new pro-tem is elected.

The changeover shouldn?t mean big changes in the way Prattville is governed, Gillespie said.

?I have complete confidence in our current council, and I have complete confidence in the incoming council,? he said. ?I look forward to working with the new council members. We may see things differently from time to time, but that?s okay. I see us as a team working to make things better.

?The new council members are qualified people, and I think there will be an honest desire to continue moving Prattville forward as the new quadrennium begins.?

No comments:

Post a Comment